About Prairie Energy Cooperative

About Prairie Energy Cooperative

Prairie Energy Cooperative is headquartered in Clarion, Iowa. We are a member-owned, non-profit electric cooperative serving an eleven county area in north-central Iowa. Our power is supplied by Corn Belt Power Cooperative in Humboldt, Iowa and Basin Electric Power, Bismarck, ND. The cooperative is governed by a seven member board of directors. 

Our Mission: To provide leadership, solutions and service to enrich quality of life in our community. 

Our Values:  Prairie Energy shares the same values as the Seven Principles of Cooperatives along with the Touchstone Energy Values.

Seven Principles of Cooperatives

  • Voluntary and open membership without discrimination
  • Democratic member control
  • Member's economic participation
  • Cooperative autonomy and independence
  • Member education, training and information to the general public
  • Cooperation among cooperatives
  • Concern for community

Touchstone Energy Values

  • Integrity
  • Accountability
  • Innovation
  • Commitment to Community


Marion Denger, President,  District 5, Dows, Iowa (member of the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives and National Rural Electric Cooperative Association board of directors)

James Wellik, Vice-president, District 2, Woden, Iowa

Donald Christopherson, Secretary/treasurer, District 7, Duncombe, Iowa

Scott Stecher, Assistant Secretary/treasurer, District 4, Clarion, Iowa (Corn Belt Power Cooperative board president)

Ted Hall, Director, District 1, Forest City, Iowa

Josh Amonson, Director, District 6, Woolstock, Iowa

Allyn Waddingham, Director, District 3, Meservey, Iowa. 


2099 Highway 3, PO Box 353

Clarion, Iowa 50525-0353

Phone: 515-532-2805 or 1-800-728-0013

Fax: 515-532-3056